Swiss Made and Quality

Today, and ever since the creation of the Maison in 1915, all Caran d’Ache products have been produced in its Geneva workshops.

Since its beginnings at the dawn of the 20th century, when the Swiss watchmaking and jewellery industries were enjoying major growth, Caran d’Ache, the one and only manufacturer of writing and drawing instruments on Swiss soil, has been part of this same lineage of excellence, technical quality and craftsmanship. Today, it embodies the same high quality standards, while fostering continuous innovation and improvement.

Every Caran d’Ache product is subject to the strictest quality controls, applied both to raw materials and their sources, as well as to the processes used by the Maison. This approach is an essential component of the Swiss Made quality label and the control system in place ensures compliance with the strictest criteria and standards.

Colour pencils and inks are systematically tested for their lightfastness, while fountain pen nibs and ballpoint or roller pen tips are checked in terms of their priming quality and writing flow. Individual controls are conducted regularly in accordance with requirements and product types.

Stringent regulatory requirements are applied to all Caran d’Ache products in order to ensure safe use, even by our youngest customers.

The work of men and women and special attention devoted to environmentally responsible processes are key values of the Maison and daily contribute to maintaining its high quality and the reputation of the Swiss Made label.

caran d'ache

Swiss Made et Qualité

Tous les produits Caran d’Ache sont réalisés, aujourd’hui et depuis la création de la Maison en 1915, dans ses ateliers genevois.

Dès ses débuts à l’aube du XXe siècle, lorsque les industries horlogère et joaillière suisses se trouvent en pleine expansion, Caran d’Ache, unique manufacture helvétique d’instruments d’écriture et de dessin, s’inscrit dans cette même lignée d’excellence, de qualité technique et de bienfacture. De nos jours, elle incarne cette même exigence de haute qualité, tout en s’appuyant sur l’innovation et l’amélioration continue.

Chaque produit Caran d’Ache est soumis au contrôle le plus strict, appliqué aux matières premières et à leur source, ainsi qu’aux procédés utilisés par la Maison. Part essentielle du label de qualité suisse, le contrôle garantit le respect des critères et des normes les plus strictes.

Les mines de couleur et les encres sont systématiquement testées pour leur résistance à la lumière, les becs de plume et les pointes à bille ou roller, pour leur qualité d’amorce et de flux de l’écriture. Des contrôles individuels sont réalisés régulièrement selon les besoins et les typologies des produits.

Des exigences réglementaires sévères sont appliquées à tous les produits issus de la manufacture, afin de permettre une utilisation sans danger, même par les plus jeunes.

Le travail des hommes et des femmes et une attention toute particulière envers des processus respectueux de l’écologie sont des valeurs fortes pour la Maison et contribuent à préserver au quotidien sa haute qualité et la renommée du label Swiss Made.